Something doesn't look right!

It appears you don't have JavaScript enabled. For the best viewing experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser.

Board of Directors

The Progress Fund’s Board of Directors combines experience and dedicated service to the community. The Board sets strategic direction and policies, oversees management and budgeting, reviews Loan Committee actions, and approves the annual audit.


R. John Dawes is Executive Director of the Foundation for Pennsylvania Watersheds and was a former consultant to the Heinz Endowments Environmental Program.


Bryce Maretzki is the Director of Strategic Planning and Policy at the Pennsylvania Housing Finance Agency (PHFA). Prior to his current position, Mr. Maretzki was Business Development Director at PHFA and Deputy Secretary for Administration and Director of Policy and Legislative Affairs at the Pennsylvania Department of Community and Economic Development.

President & CEO and Co-founder

David A. Kahley is the Chief Executive Officer of The Progress Fund and its co-founder.

Treasurer & CFO and Co-founder

Karen Post is the Chief Financial Officer of The Progress Fund and its co-founder.

Loan Committee Representative

David D. Miller is Senior Vice President at Enterprise Bank. Mr. Miller spent twelve years working as Assistant District Director with the Small Business Administration.


Jared M. Gorentz, AAI, AU has a background in Finance and Insurance, and is currently a Territory Sales Manager for Donegal Insurance Group, where he serves as a consultant to independent insurance agency management while engaging/educating agency personnel on products and services. Prior to Donegal, Jared served as an Underwriting Specialist with CNA and has also served on various non-profit boards in the Laurel Highlands.


Jan Dofner is the former Owner/President of Levi Deal Mansion Bed & Breakfast, which she owned and managed for 7 years.


James P. Butler is President of Professional Mortgage Connection LLC.  Jim possesses years of experience in community development, housing, private sector fund development, mortgage financing, general contracting and managing and securing government contracts.